Hall's Harbour Observatory,   Hall's Harbour, NS

Observatory & Server Time

03-Aug-2020 18:15 ADT 03-Aug-2020 21:15 UTC

My primary temperature sensor died. The backup sensor currently reporting is in the sun and overreads on sunny days. I am hoping to get a new weather station soon.

The observatory's local time is:
03-Aug-2020 18:15:08 ADT
or:
03-Aug-2020 21:15:08 UTC

The server time was last calibrated at: 21-Mar-2020 19:17:51 ADT.
At that time, the server time was: 21-Mar-2020 22:17:34 UTC.

I want the website to display the correct time independently of the clocks on the server or the reader's client computer. I arbitrarily define the time on my computer to be correct, since it is the only one of the three that I can monitor and control directly. In order to display the correct time in content provided by the server, scripts on the server have to apply a correction factor to the server's time. This correction not only accounts for any server clock error, it also accommodates the time zone difference between the server and my observatory.

To establish this correction factor, I periodically measure the difference in time between my clock and the server's clock. This is done automatically, once a week. The correction factor is stored on the server and applied to all times displayed by the website.

Note that the times displayed are static: they do not keep time continuously. The displayed time is the time at which you loaded the page. The longer you stay on the page, the more out of date the displayed time will become.

A correction of: -10783 seconds is currently being applied to the server time to compute ADT.

Right now, the server time is: 03-Aug-2020 21:14:51 UTC.